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Criteria | Description |
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What is Cult.fit? | Cult.fit is a fitness app which lets you book gym sessions, group classes and access online fitness classes โ |
Founding Year | 2016 |
Offering available in | Cult.fit physical centres are available in Metro cities (top 8 cities) and Tier 1 cities. It also offers online fitness classes (both live and async format) |
Value proposition |
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Current scale | FY 23 revenue: INR 700 Cr for the group. INR 445 Cr from fitness subscriptions (product being focussed on) |
Competition | Cult does not have a like to like competitor. However, fitness chains such as Fitness first, local gym chains, freelance trainers (both online and offline) are the nearest competitors |
App downloads and ratings | 10 M+ downloads, 4.1 on playstore (114 K reviews) |
While Cult.fit is a house of brands, the focus of this document is limited to fitness classes (physical and online) product which is Cult.fit's core offering
Cult Fit operates on a subscription-based model, offering unlimited access to fitness classes and training sessions at their gyms and online through their app. They also offer additional services like personal training and nutrition coaching at an extra cost.
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โ | ICP 1 | ICP 2 | ICP 3 | ICP 4 |
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ICP Name | Digital Dynamos | Corporate achievers | Enthu college kids | Tier 2 juntaa |
Who are they? | Young working professionals | Leadership positions in startups and corporates, housewives | Students | Business owners, house wives |
Age | 24-35 | 35-50 | 16-22 | 30- 45 |
Gender | Any | Any | Any | Any |
Location | Metro and Tier 1 like Mumbai, Bengaluru, Jaipur | Metro and Tier 1 cities like Mumbai, Bengaluru | โMetro and Tier 1 cities like Mumbai, Bengaluru | Tier 2+ cities |
Who do you live with | Friends | Spouse and kids | Family or friends | Family |
Occupation | SDE, PMs, Growth managers, Analysts | Director, VP, Entrepreneur | High school, college grads | Business owners |
Income levels | 10-30 LPA | >30 LPA | <5 LPA | 10-50 LPA |
Where do they spend time? | Offices, dining out, social media, travel, shopping apps | Offices, community events, shopping apps | College, social events, social media | Social gatherings, social media |
Apps they use (Partner integration) | Zepto, Youtube, Myntra, | Twitter, Big basket, Whatsapp, OTT apps | Instagram, Youtube, Spotify, OTT apps | Whatsapp, Youtube, Facebook, Flipkart |
Fitness level | Moderate to high | Low to moderate | Moderate to high | Low to moderate |
Frequency of doing fitness activities (per week) | 3-5 times | 1-3 times | 3-5 times | 0-3 times |
Form factor | Mostly physical, sometimes online | Mix of physical and online | Mostly physical, sometimes online | Mostly online |
Pain points | Lack of time, motivation | Motivation, high stress levels | Affordability | Lack of gyms, group classes in their location |
Goals they want to achieve from fitness | Looking good, social image | Maintain a healthy life style, stress management | Build muscle, good looks | โWeight and disease management |
Fitness apps / gadgets they use apart from Cult | Strava, Nike run, mid range smartwatch | HealthifyMe, Playo, apple watch | Free ver of fitness apps | Meditation apps, zoom for yoga sessions |
Influencers | Fitness influencers on social, their friends and colleagues | Colleagues, spouse | Fitness influencers, friends | Their children, friends |
Blockers | Time constraint, unavailability of classes | Time constraint, | Money constraint | Lack of physical centres |
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On a scale of 1-5
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Parameter | ICP 1 (Digital dynamos) | ICP 2 (Corporate achievers) | ICP 3 (Enthu college kids) | ICP 4 (Tier 2 ki juntaa) |
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Adoption curve | 5 (want a one stop solution to fitness) | 4 (high willingness to be consistent) | 5 (want to look good and build muscle) | 3 (getting aware about benefits of regular fitness) |
Frequency of use case | 4 (regular) | 3 (time constraint) | 5 (most regular) | 3 |
Appetite to pay | 5 (High income) | 5 (High income) | 1 (depends on parents for pocket money / low income) | 4 |
TAM potential | 4 | 4 | 5 | 5 |
Ease of distribution | 5 | 5 | 4 | 3 (distribution is a challenge currently) |
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Based on the above priortisation framework, ICP 1 and 2 are our primary ICPs. They exhibit higher adoption and frequency of Cult's product. With higher appetite to pay, large TAM and easy to serve, we will focus on these 2 ICPs to design acquisition channel strategy.
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Cult has 10 Mn playstore downloads. Assuming 2-3 Mn app store downloads, Cult has captured 40% of the SOM.
We are not doing a value based market analysis here and limiting it to number of users Cult can onboard.
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Cult.fit stands out in the fitness landscape with its unparalleled brand presence and standardized offerings. As a one-stop solution for all fitness needs, Cult.fit uniquely offers multiple workout formats under one roof, from yoga and dance to strength training and HIIT. Unlike others, where you'd need to join multiple centers to access various formats, Cult.fit provides it all in one place, ensuring a consistent and high-quality experience across all platforms
Cult clearly is in mature scaling stage and hence we will now jump onto pick 2 channels and make a strategy to double down on these 2 channels.
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Possible channels | Effort | CAC (Cost) | Flexibility | Lead time (Time) | TAM (Scale) |
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SEO | High | High | Med | High | Very High โ |
Content loop on Insta, YT | High | Low โ | Med | High | High โ |
Influencer marketing | High | High | High โ | Medโ | High โ |
Paid Ads | Med โ | High | High โ | Low โ | High โ |
Referral | Med โ | Low โ | High โ | Med โ | Med โ |
Partner integration | High | Med โ | Low | Med โ | Med |
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Based on the above priortization framework, we will choose Paid Ads and Referral as channels to double down on.
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Secondary research : Paid Ads is also the biggest lever of growth for cult currently
Growth Manager at Cult
Step 1: We will make Ad strategy for ICP 1 (Digital Dynamos)
Channel priortization
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Time spent | Low | Low | High โ |
Effort | Med | Med | High (as reels and stories require sophisticated creatives) |
Cost of channel | High | Med โ | High |
Expected CTR | High โ | Low | Med โ |
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As our ICP primarily spends time on Instagram (an average adult in India in metro in 18-30 age group) spends 1.5-2 hrs on Instagram, we will chose Instagram as our preferred channel to run Ads.
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CAC for a user on cult acquired through Instagram channel:
Cult has 1.2 M organic followers on Instagram.
Instagram- assuming we spend 1 Cr on Insta ads | |||
12 Months | Remarks | ||
Budget | 1,00,00,000 | โ | |
CPM | 400 | Cost per 1000 impressions is roughly 5 USD for fitness products on meta platform | |
Impressions | 2,50,00,000 | ||
CTR | 1% | Basis conversations with people who specialise on Meta Ads. CTR 1-1.5% | |
Number of Clicks/App Store Visits | 2,50,000 | โ | |
App Installs and signup - 10% | 25,000 | 10% people sign up on the app post installation | |
Install to paid - 7.5% | 2500 | Assumption. 10% convert to paid users | |
CAC | 4000 | CAC for a typical customer |
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ARPU of a customer on cult will depend upon the type of product he subscribes to
Product | Price for year | Mix |
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Elite | 15000 | 50% |
Pro | 12000 | 30% |
Live | 4000 | 20% |
ARPU becomes ~12000. Considerign a lifetime of 3 year for user,
LTV becomes 12000* Retention rate for 2nd year* Retention for 3rd year
Assume retention to be @ ~40% for second year and 70% for third year (higher retention if you are already with the platform for two years)
=12000 x 1.68 = ~20000
Giving us a healthy LTV / CAC of 5.
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Whether it's yoga, dance, or strength training, Cult.fit has you covered. With our expert trainers and diverse workout options, you can achieve your fitness goals anywhere. Plus, you can create your own fitness groups for added motivation. How cool is that?
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Ad Concept: Highlighting the variety of workouts and the community aspect of Cult.fit.
"From Yoga to Dance to Strength Training, Cult.fit offers it all. Create your own fitness group and stay motivated with our expert trainers and community support. Ready to transform your fitness journey? #FitnessGoals #CultFit #JoinNow"
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โAd Concept: Showcasing the dynamic and fun environment of Cult.fit with a focus on creating fitness groups.
"Find your perfect workout, create your own fitness group, and stay motivated with Cult.fit! Whether it's Yoga, Dance, or Strength Training, we have everything you need. How cool is that? #FitnessCommunity #CultFit #JoinNow"
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You can see the video script whimsical here
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Current referral flow for Cult has loads of issues.
Now that we have identified the problems, we will suggest solutions for the same below. Due to lack of time, wireframes are not attached.
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What do users brag about Cult: To begin with, the Bragworthy Proposition of Cult is you can track and share your fitness progress.
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ICP Prioritisation: I will be focussing only on ICP 1 (Digital Dynamos) who uses the app frequently
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Who to Ask:
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Discovery Method:
Platform Currency:
Since renewal depends on how frequently you use the platform, we can chose membership extension as our platform currency.
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How Will They Share:
Currently cult only has whatsapp sharing, while whatsapp is surely the most prominent channel. There should be an option to copy your link and send it through any platform to ensure no dropoffs at this stage.
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